A new me

After a rather interesting few months I have come to the realisation that I need to do something about my weight. I need to focus some energy on getting myself physically healthy in order to help my mental health.

I’m not far off the heaviest I’ve ever been (when not pregnant) if not heavier. At 5’3″ I shouldnt’ be having to abandon size 16s and head into the size 18s. I hate it. I don’t feel happy, and I’ve been self-harming. I need to find a way to stop that. I’m hoping that as I feel better about my body I’ll be less likely to hurt it.

Having found myself starting to starve myself in the past I’m going to have to be very careful. I’ve gone back to counting calories on My Fitness Pal, though I’m going to be very careful not to be more than 100 calories below my allowance otherwise I know I could try and reduce it too far. I’ve also been fortunate enough to have been given a Fitbit Flex by my wonderful Mum. I’m hoping this will be encourage me to be more active. I’m making plans to go swimming with a friend one we’ve droped our children at school in September as well as possibly cycling/walking with others. I’m feeling more motivated at the moment than I have done before, I really hope that motivation stays with me.

Woodland walk July 2014

To finish this post I thought I’d add in a picture I took on a walk with my Mum and the children yesterday in a woodland very close to my childhood home. I miss that place! I’m sure I’d walk more if we lived as close to somewhere like that as we did when I was growing up.

One thought on “A new me

  1. Hi, Hannah. Well done for posting such a candid, heart-felt post. That can’t have been easy but I can hear the determination in your voice. You deserve so much for having the courage. Belief that you can, is one of the most important things to have. If I can help please contact me. Take care.

Join the chat

