Progress report

Well, I’ve had my Fitbit now for almost 3 weeks and it’s time for me to take stock of my progress towards my health goals.

It has definitely made me think more about my movements. I’ve still got a  long way to go to be hitting my (currently low) step target every day, but I’m getting closer. I’ve also been considering how to fit more walking into my daily routine once term starts again. I’m not good about going for a random walk from home without a purpose (I have a tendency towards walking to shops and spending money…)  so I’ve downloaded some OS maps to my phone and I’m going to try driving into Epping forest, Paringdon Wood or to the river at Dobbs Weir after dropping the children to school a couple of times a week. I have downloaded an app which will map my routes as well so I can see how far I’m walking and gradually try to increase that too.

Weight-wise things aren’t so good. I lost 1.5 lbs in the first 5 days of tracking… then it went a bit wrong… I suppose starting a calorie tracking plan just before going on holiday with limited data allowance on my phone wasn’t the smartest idea, though with hindsight (what a wonderful thing…) I could have tried to write down what I’d eaten even if I didn’t know the calorie content would have kept me more on track. Anyway, I’ve returned home weighing more than I started… doh! I was rather down about this on Saturday, but I’m trying to just pick myself up and get on with it. I have the tools to get myself healthy, I just need to keep myself focussed and plod on. This isn’t going to be a quick process.

I’m going to finish this post with a photo to remind me I’m not just doing this for me. I’m doing it for these precious people as well. They are amazing in so many ways and really deserve the best wife and mother who has the energy and fitness to look after them and do the things with them they want to do. That’s not me at the moment, but one day it will be.

Family

3 thoughts on “Progress report

Join the chat

